Fall 2019 Recognition and Awards for Faculty and Students


Alice Tse Receives Award from Western Institute of Nursing

Tse receives WAN awardOn April 11, 2019, Alice Tse, PhD, APRN, FAAN, department of nursing and dental hygiene chair, interim graduate nursing chair and professor, was inducted into the Western Institute of Nursing (WIN) Western Academy of Nurses at the 2019 Awards Luncheon held in San Diego.

The Academy recognizes and honors nurses who have demonstrated excellence in nursing practice and who have advanced nursing in direct care, education or research for nursing in the western region, as well as providing engagement and meaningful involvement in the activities of the WIN.

Tse was recognized for her leadership in the development of community-based participatory approaches with Pacific populations. For the past two decades, she has assisted local nurses in the U.S. Affiliated Pacific Islands region to build community capacity within a collaborative including the University of Hawaii, the American Pacific Nurse Leaders’ Council, and the Western Region of the World Health Organization. She has also provided leadership on WIN committees and projects since 1995. She chairs the Committee on Membership and serves as a poster judge at the annual meetings. She was one of 11 nurses from across the nation to be inducted into the Western Academy of Nurses.

Visit Western Institute of Nursing Western Academy of Nurses for more information.

Janet Uyehara Awarded Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching

Uyehara receives awardOn April 29, 2019, UH Manoa held the 2019 Awards Ceremony at Kennedy Theatre. Janet Uyehara, MS, RN-BC, was awarded the Presidential Citation for Meritorious Teaching in recognition of having made significant contributions to teaching and student learning.

Janet is an assistant professor and engages with students interactively through concept-based experience, case study sessions, simulation lab and debriefing sessions and the postpartum childbearing teaching project. She collaborated with two other maternal newborn faculty to develop, implement and update simulation scenarios that gave students the opportunities to learn the content and care in class before applying to the simulation lab experience. These scenarios use high-fidelity technology manikins that simulate giving birth. Through these innovative approaches, student interest and abilities increase and, along with that, they experience the joys, realities and challenges of the nursing field. Students often comment on who Uyehara puts first; some say she puts students first and others say she puts patients first. Either way, they all agree she exemplifies excellence, innovation, dedication and leadership.

Visit UH Manoa Awards for more information.


PhD Student Johnelle Chock Selected as 2019 Paul Ambrose Scholar

Chock at PAS conference

UH Manoa Nursing PhD student Johnelle Chock was selected for the 2019 Paul Ambrose Scholar Class. She attended a 3-day Student Leadership Symposium in Cleveland, sponsored by the Association for Prevention Teaching and Research (APTR).

Chock was one of 40 health professional students chosen from across the country. The Paul Ambrose Scholars Program (PASP) emphasizes public health leadership, health policy, advocacy, project planning, and methods to affect change in the community. Dr. Alice Tse, PhD, APRN, FAAN, department of nursing and dental hygiene chair, interim graduate nursing chair and professor, is Chock’s mentor and will be guiding her to fulfill the requirements of the PASP. Chock’s project will focus on screening for the fear of falling in community-dwelling older adults living in Hawaii and providing fall prevention education.

“The Student Leadership Symposium was a wonderful opportunity to network with other health professionals that share my passion for public health nursing. I learned skills from the expert faculty that I can use to implement in my community to make a difference. I am grateful for the support of the UH Manoa Nursing and the Department of Health, Public Health Nursing Branch,” says Chock.

The PASP was created to honor the late Dr. Paul Ambrose who was onboard American Airlines flight 77 when it was hijacked on September 11, 2001. Dr. Ambrose’s work with the Surgeon General’s office to promote public health and disease prevention left behind a powerful legacy to support leadership development for public health and preventative medicine students.

Visit PASP for more information or email Alice Tse, department of nursing and dental hygiene chair, interim graduate nursing chair and professor at

Back To Top