Three Hawaii Nurses Inducted into as 2018 Fellows of the AAN

On November 3, 2018, three Hawaii nurses were inducted into 2018 Fellows of the American Academy of Nursing. The American Academy of Nursing’s approximately 2,400 fellows are nursing leaders in education, management, practice and research. Fellows represent association executives; university presidents, chancellors and deans; elected officials; state and federal political appointees; hospital chief executives and vice presidents for nursing; nurse consultants; and researchers and entrepreneurs.

Hawaii delegation at the 2018 AAN Fellow Induction

Katherine Finn Davis, PhD, APRN, CPNP

Katherine Finn Davis is director for community partnerships at the University of Hawaii at Manoa Nancy Atmospera-Walch School of Nursing, Associate Director for Evidence-Based Practice at the Hawaii State Center for Nursing, and Nurse Researcher at The Queen’s Medical Center. She completed her BSN at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and her MSN and PhD at Emory University.

Dr. Davis combines her expertise in research and evidence-based practice to empower nurses to advance their practice and improve patient, staff, students, and system outcomes. She addresses the international call to transform health care through synthesis of evidence, implementation, and dissemination across multiple practice settings. She leads a statewide program and creates innovative strategies to prepare the next generation of nursing faculty and leaders and build capacity for practicing clinicians to use evidence to improve the quality of nursing care and outcomes. Her sustained scholarship has contributed at the patient, organizational, and national levels as evidenced by work with numerous nursing and interprofessional teams improving outcomes in tertiary care settings serving patients from around the world. Dr. Davis’ substantial nursing influence is demonstrated by high levels of dissemination and inclusion in national evidence-based clinical practice guideline development for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention and American Academy of Pediatrics as well as numerous nursing, medicine, and quality and patient safety journals, and presented at more 40 conferences.

Mary Frances Oneha, PhD, RN, APRN

Mary Frances Oneha is the Chief Executive Officer at Waimanalo Health Center. Dr. Oneha received her Bachelor of Science from the University of Hawaii, Master of Nursing from the University of Washington, and PhD in Nursing from the University of Colorado.

Having worked with large Native Hawaiian communities for over 25 years, Dr. Oneha is committed to improving the health of Native Hawaiians through the integration of Native Hawaiian values and practice in healthcare practice and research. Health disparities for Native Hawaiians are maintained by a complex interaction between social determinants, cultural and historical trauma, resulting in a disconnect between culture and effective health and medical services. She advocates for healthcare policy and payment to focus on addressing the social, economic, and environmental factors that influence health. Her collaborative research and publication efforts with other community minded researchers have aligned with this commitment. She has implemented culturally relevant tools to assess family history and social support and is leading the integration and sustainability of Native Hawaiian cultural practices in primary care at her Center. As a result of these efforts, Dr. Oneha was inducted into the University of Hawaii School of Nursing Hall of Fame, honored as a Hawaiian Civic Club of Honolulu Na Wahine Puuwai Aloha, and recognized by the White House as an AAPI Woman Champion of Change. She currently serves as Secretary of Na Limahana o Lonopuha, a Native Hawaiian Health Consortium leveraging resources to improved the well-being and life expectancy of Native Hawaiians.

Joanne Noone, PhD, RN, CNE, ANEF

Joanne Noone is Campus Associate Dean and Professor at Oregon Health & Science University School of Nursing on the Ashland Campus. Dr. Noone received her baccalaureate in nursing degree from Wagner College, a master’s degree in medical-surgical nursing from Adelphi University and a PhD in Nursing from the University of Hawaii.

Dr. Noone’s scholarly work centers on health equity. In her local southern Oregon community, she is the academic lead of a community-academic partnership, the Southern Oregon Regional Health Equity Coalition, funded by the State of Oregon Office of Equity and Inclusion and Meyer Memorial Trust to prioritize health disparities as a regional problem and advance policies that promote equity and address social determinants of health. Dr. Noone serves on the Steering Committee for this coalition. In addition, she is the program director for a HRSA Nursing Workforce Diversity Grant, Advancing Health Equity through Student Empowerment & Professional Success 2.0. The purpose of this program is to address social determinants of health to enroll, empower, and graduate nursing students from disadvantage backgrounds to improve health equity within their communities through professional nursing practice.

She is chair of the Oregon Nursing Association Cabinet for Nursing Education, a member of the Oregon State Board of Nursing Education Advisory Group and Governor of Education for the Wester Institute of Nursing. She is also on the Jackson County Public Health Advisory Board and the Oregon Health Authority Office of Equity and Inclusion Community Advisory Council.

UH Manoa Nursing AAN Fellows

Back To Top