Sigma Theta Tau International Welcomes 57 New Manoa Members

The Spring 2017 statewide induction ceremony for the national nursing honor society, Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) was held on April 30, 2017 at the Filipino Community Center in Waipahu. It was the Chapter’s first induction event at the Center, and the theme for the event was “I Am the Future.” Dr. Clementina Ceria-Ulep, UH Manoa Nursing Associate Dean, was in attendance and congratulated inductees on behalf Dean Mary Boland. Guest speaker Representative John Mizuno shared information about health care policy and congratulated the inductees for their accomplishments.

Sigma Theta Tau International group photo

Inductees enjoyed an elaborate venue and meal with family, friends, and faculty. During the ceremony, inductees took their oath as STTI members after receiving their membership certificates and purple and white cords. UH Manoa Nursing is proud of the 35 new spring 2017 STTI inductees.

Spring 2017
35 STTI Members

Asato, Randi
Baeza, Jessica
Canonizado, Tracy
Cummins, Kerri
Deidre, De Jesus
Dela Cruz, Marissa
Dizon, Kristia-Leanne
Franz, Michelle
Hamada, Liana
Hara, Kathrina
Inamine, Christine
Jang, Hee

Kam, Kasey
Kim, Joo Sun
Konishi, Minami
Lagunda, Ma. Gennylou
Lam, Jennifer
Matsuyama, Natalie
Maunahina, Kahalalihiula
Nakano, Jenny
Paresa, Chanel
Perreira, Angelica
Revuelto, Shay

Sarahina, Melissa
Schirmer, Rozanne
Shannon, Flannery
Shito-Leong, Sherri
Sribhibhadh, Amara
Suga, Eva
Takiguchi, Marisa
Tom, Micah
Urashima, Shawna
Vosters, Julie
Wei, Gary
West, Heather

The Honor Society of Nursing, STTI offers many opportunities to enhance the membership experience via the vast resources it provides (e.g., online books, career tools, educational opportunities, leadership development, and periodicals). With its grant-offering partners, it supplies more than $200,000 annually for conducting nursing research. The local Hawaii chapter Gamma-Psi-at-Large Chapter, presented the Spring 2017 scholarship award to Morgan Torris-Hedlund, a nursing graduate student and former faculty member at UH Manoa Nursing.

The Fall 2016 induction ceremony was held on December 3, 2016 at the Manoa Grand Ballroom at the Japanese Cultural Center of Hawaii. The theme for the fall induction was “Think Globally” and guest speaker, Dr. Valerie Yonz provided key information on culturally literature communication. UH Manoa Nursing had 22 students inducted into the STTI honors society.

Fall 2016
22 STTI Members

Cole, Adrian
DeForest, Haley
Fortune-Checotah, Natasha
Gongob, Randi
Hannah, Zachary
Hara, Mirie
Ike, Sally
Kogami, Alyssa

Lepere, Lisa
Lui, Vanessa
Mangayayam, Lorie
Nakashima, Sumi
Nicola, Taylor
Pascual, Rachel
Rosa, Sarah

Simms, Joan
Sparks, Leah
Stock, Eleanor
Tagawa, Lysette
Torris-Hedlund, Morgan
Watanabe, Tobi
Yoshikami, Alicia

STTI is a nursing honor society founded in 1922 and consists of more than 135,000 active members across more than 90 countries whose mission is to “support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide.” From its inception, STTI has valued excellence and scholarship; it was the first U.S. organization to fund nursing research. STTI consists of more than 500 chapters. The local (Hawaii) chapter, Gamma Psi-At-Large Chapter, held its first induction ceremony in April 1992.

If interested in learning more about Sigma Theta Tau, how to become a member or how to make the most out of your membership, please contact the UHM counselor, Frankie B. Hale at

Back To Top