Large Crowds Celebrate Spring and Summer Nursing Graduates

More than 800 families and friends gathered at the Hawaii Theatre on May 10, 2017, to celebrate 92 spring and summer graduates from UH Manoa Nursing. Graduates from the Bachelor of Science, RN to Bachelor of Science, Master of Science, Doctor of Nursing Practice (DNP), and Doctor of Philosophy (PhD) nursing programs participated in this Spring’s Recognition Ceremony.

Students selected Ms. Cindy Kamikawa, President of North Hawaii Community Hospital and UH Manoa Nursing alumna, to deliver their keynote address. Student speakers were BS graduate Jarrett-Alan Yamasaki and MS graduate Alana Busekrus.

spring & summer graduate 2017  group photo

In keeping with tradition, students invited family members to participate on stage during the pinning ceremony. Each student received a ribbon lei from the School with a UHM Nursing alumni pin affixed to it. UH Manoa Nursing Alumni Association (UHMNAA) President Lori Kaneshige, MSN, RN, continued a more recent tradition of presenting a $250 cash gift to accompany the baccalaureate student-selected Professional Nurse Award presented to Eleanor Stock. Additional baccalaureate award recipients were: Melissa Henry, Leadership Award; Rachel Kamai, Kahiau Award; Kris Daenos, Community Service Award; and Alona Valmoja, DAISY in Training Award.

UHMNAA and the School presented UHMNAA President Lori Kaneshige with a special recognition for her service leading the chapter during the past five years as Vice President and President.

The Dean’s Scholarly Project Award was awarded to PhD student Jane Bagley in recognition of her study project titled “Predictors of Fear of Falling and Activity Avoidance in Community-Dwelling Older Adults,” DNP student Nancy Atmospera-Walch in recognition of her study project titled “Improving Patient Safety through Structural Empowerment”, MS student Alana Busekrus in recognition of her study project titled “Improving Diabetes Self-Management Education for Dual Diagnosed Patients with Tuberculosis and Diabetes Mellitus” and BS student Eleanor Stock in recognition of her study project titled “Exploring Salutogenesis as a Concept of Health and Well Being in Nurses who Thrive Professionally.”

The undergraduate class presented UHM Nursing faculty, Dr. Carolyn Constantin, PhD, RNC, with the Nurse Educator Award in recognition of her respect and dedication to student success. Dr. Laura Boehm, PhD, MSN, RN, was the recipient of the faculty-selected DAISY Faculty Award, in honor of her exceptional impact on students and inspirational influence on their future.

The School presented recognition certificates to the Executive Board Members of the UH Manoa Student Nurses Association (SNA). SNA is a student-led organization and is the UH Manoa chapter of the Hawaii State Student Nurses Organization and the National Student Nurses Association. Executive Board Members were: Adrian Cole, Michelle Collins, Haley DeForest, Melissa Henry, Samantha Kaiser, Lori Ann Mangay-ayam, Eleanor Stock and Tobi Watanabe.

UHM Nursing will celebrate Class of 2018 graduates at a Recognition Ceremony in May 2018. For questions about the event, please contact Carlyn Okatomi at or (808) 956-0896.

Back To Top