Sigma Theta Tau International Spring 2020 New Members

Sigma Theta Tau International (STTI) is a nursing honor society founded in 1922 and consists of more than 135,000 active members across more than 90 countries whose mission is to “support the learning, knowledge and professional development of nurses committed to making a difference in health worldwide.” From its inception, STTI has valued excellence and scholarship; it was the first U.S. organization to fund nursing research.

Sigma Theta Tau International consists of more than 500 chapters. The Hawaii chapter, Gamma Psi-At-Large Chapter (The Chapter), held its first induction ceremony in April 1992 and continues with this tradition. The COVID-19 global pandemic was an unprecedented situation that brought on changes to having a Spring 2020 in-person induction ceremony. Instead, The Chapter’s counselors sent a personal congratulatory email to new members from the chapter’s President, Dr. Magpantay-Monroe. The Chapter’s counselors will be in contact with new members regarding a future in-person ceremony.

The following list consists of all 41 spring 2020 University of Hawaii at Manoa inductees:

Reyson Agcaoili
Januaria Balajadia
Beatriz Bumanglag
Rishel Keiko Butay
Ashley Ann Cacpal
Brettany-Anne Clemens
Bridgette Cuaresma
Rachelynne Dalisay
Caleb De Leon
Virginia Donohoe
Julianne Gonzaga
Liliuokalani Hiraide
Mary Jean Javier
Jemma Johns
Lilly Jokura
Taylor Jordan
Noelani Kawakami
Taylor Kashiwabara
Andie Kida
Yuk Ling Lam
Yasmeen LaTore
Crystal Lee
Angela Leonardo
Airah Shayne Martin
Susan Minnich
Deidamia Monfort
Nicolas Ono
Ju Yon Park
Hazel Pascua
Myra Clarissa Pascual
Jasmine Irene Rodriguez
Nicole Ryan
Jastine Rodriguez
Claire Shigeta
Traci Shiraishi
Tatiana Strezoski
Ollie Thurston
Amy Turner
Nanea Tuttle
Jordyn Yee
Qi Zhi

Dean Mary Boland and the UHM SIGMA Taskforce were immensely supportive to Dr. Frankie B. Hale, the chapter’s counselor in the induction process.

The Honor Society of Nursing, SIGMA, previously known as Sigma Theta Tau International, offers many opportunities to enhance the membership experience via the vast resources it provides of online books, career tools, educational opportunities, leadership development, and periodicals. With its grant-offering partners, it awards more than $200,000 annually for conducting nursing research.

The SIGMA Gamma Psi-At-Large Chapter Research Grant Recipient 2020 was Dr. Gary Glauberman. Graduate students Minami Konishi and Nicole Ryan with undergraduate students Liberty Alconis, Rand Bennett, and Ju Yon Park were the chapter’s scholarship recipients for 2020.

If you are interested in learning more about Sigma Theta Tau, how to become a member or how to make the most out of your membership, please contact the UHM counselor, Dr. Frankie B. Hale at or directly at

Back To Top